Billecart-Salmon was established in 1818 by Nicolas-Francois Billecart and Elisabeth Salmon in the town of Mareuil-sur-Ay. It is one of the few Champagne houses still owned by the original family. The house is renowned for its non-vintage rose, but also makes vintage champagnes and a Brut Reserve (a blend of three vintages). Billecart-Salmon farms 30 hectares of its own fruit and purchases grapes from an additional 140 hectares, mostly from the area surrounding Epernay. Production methods are meticulous, including the use of their own cultured yeast and Grand Cru wines are fermented in small, traditional Burgundy casks. The bottles are aged in deep chalky cellars where the constantly cool temperature allows for the production of small, fine bubbles.
See other similar producers: